katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Heaven on a Baked Potato

on May 30, 2014

20140526-214522-78322173.jpg
This is not so much a recipe as an idea. As in, ohhh….yes….I forgot about that time long ago when I used to go out and I used to order baked potato skins. I don’t do that anymore. I still go out to eat on occasion, but why don’t I order baked potato skins? It feels like a college thing to me or at the very least an early 20’s, just out of college, kind of appetizer. Well, whatever it is, it’s delicious, and should not be relegated to my memories. So the next time you make bacon, save a couple of strips. Make baked potatoes the next night, shred some cheddar cheese on them, cut up your leftover bacon, sprinkle it on along with some dried chives, salt and pepper…and taste heaven…on a baked potato.

This is how we bake our potatoes. Wash and prick them a few times with a fork to let steam escape. Rub each one with a little olive oil. Place them directly on your oven rack and bake at 375 degrees F for about one hour.

2 responses to “Heaven on a Baked Potato

  1. LeAnn says:

    Yes! Whatever happened to potato skins!!! I wonder if you could do something with sweet potato skins? Prob too thin, but would be delish!

Leave a Reply

