katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Summer Oatmeal

on July 2, 2013

20130630-154551.jpg

My husband eats oatmeal every single morning. My Dad introduced him to this healthful habit not long after we were married and it’s pretty much been his go to breakfast ever since. I am a firm believer in the benefits of oatmeal and for years have been trying to get the kids on board as well. Aside from a brief run a few years ago, they have been generally unimpressed with it. I would love to report that this new idea of “summer oatmeal” did the trick…but, sadly, it was a thumbs down from both of them. But that has not stopped me from eating this almost every morning this summer. I make 2 or 3 jars of it at a time, stick them in the fridge…and I’ve got an easy breakfast the next day. When it’s already 80 degrees at 7 AM, it’s nice to have a cold version of oatmeal and I can throw in whatever add ins I want, just before I eat it. So, hopefully someone out there has kids that will like this…it will certainly make your mornings easier. And I’ll keep trying to find a way to get my kids to eat oatmeal!

20130702-214703.jpg

I found this idea on two different websites, Weelicious and Kath Eats Real Food. I hesitate to even call it a “recipe”…it’s so simple. You just put equal parts uncooked oats, milk, and yogurt into a container (I use old jelly jars), stir it to combine everything, put the lid on and stick it in the fridge overnight. In the jars pictured above, I used 1/2 cup of each ingredient. In the morning you can add a little bit of maple syrup or honey, and whatever other add ins you would like (you can also mix the add ins in the night before if you want). I’ve been stirring in sunflower seeds and fresh berries. Other possibilities are dried fruit, like cranberries or raisins, chopped nuts, cut up banana, chia or flax seeds, peanut butter, cinnamon, vanilla…lots of possibilities. These will keep up to 3 days in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

