katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Summer Slushie Policy

on June 25, 2013

All year long, I complain about the lunches that the school serves my kids. Then, finally, we arrive at summer vacation and this happens….

20130616-170309.jpg

Okay…fine, School Lunch Program, you win. I’m sorry. I admit it. I am no better than you at feeding my children. I know that there are parents out there who don’t let this happen. Moms and dads with spines. Parents who can tune out the relentless begging and whining for the magic, icy drink that screams “Summer!” I am not one of those moms. I cave, every time. There is an evil snack shack at our pool with an innocent looking teenager sitting inside just waiting…waiting the approximately 6.4 seconds that it takes from the time we arrive at the pool until one of my kids asks, “Mom…can I get a Slushie?” If these slushies were simply an occasional indulgence, I would be okay with that. But we are at the pool almost every day. I need some sort of strategy. So I am thinking about implementing a two Slushie per week limit. I will purchase one, and they can buy a second one with their own money. Yes…I am so smart…I feel much better now. I am on top of this…bring it on, Evil Snack Shack. “Mom…can I get a pixie stick?” Grrrrrr….

2 responses to “Summer Slushie Policy

  1. Laura says:

    ha ha ha! I have the same problem at the concession stand and the baseball games. and i cave because it makes Teddy sit down for 1 minute. lol. green slushie every time. what’s even worse is that i love them too! that is a cute pic of the kids 🙂

  2. Julia says:

    Katie and I blogged a recipe for Lemon Berry Slushy, which looks good.

Leave a Reply

