katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Shrimp and Sun Dried Tomato Pasta

on June 12, 2013

20130608-203802.jpg

This recipe and I go way back. Way back to another lifetime, before I had kids, before I was married. Before I had anyone to cook for other than myself. I don’t remember why I even tried to make something like this back then, but somehow this meal made it into the rotation, along with cereal out of a box, pasta tossed with Parmesan and lemon juice, and Lean Quisine frozen meals. Once I discovered how simple it was and how easily it fooled other people into thinking that I actually had some culinary skill…I think I served it every single time I had company. My parents, my in laws, my friends, my siblings, my co-workers…anyone who has ever been invited to dinner at my house has probably seen this Shrimp and Pasta dish on the table. The original recipe was from the grocery store (Wegmans) but I’ve made it so many times, I don’t actually use a recipe anymore. Feel free to make it with chicken, switch the greens to Swiss chard, or use fresh tomatoes.

Shrimp and Sundried Tomato Pasta
~1 lb. of cooked shrimp (put raw shrimp in boiling water for 3 minutes to cook)
~1/4 cup olive oil (or oil from your jar of Sundried tomatoes)
~2 to 3 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced
~10 oz. fresh spinach or Swiss chard, coarsely chopped
~16 oz whole wheat pasta (I usually use penne or rotini)
~1 jar (10 oz.) of chopped Sundried tomatoes, reserve 1/4 cup of the oil
~1 cup chicken broth
~feta cheese, crumbled, about one cup
~lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook pasta according to package directions.
2. Heat oil over medium high heat in a Dutch oven or large skillet, add garlic and cook about one minute until it begins to sizzle.
3. Add spinach and cook until it is wilted, 2 to 3 minutes.
4. Add chicken broth and Sundried tomatoes, bring to a boil.
5. Reduce heat and add shrimp, cook for another minute.
6. Drain the pasta and add the shrimp mixture and feta cheese, mix to combine.
7. Season as needed with lemon juice, salt and pepper.

4 responses to “Shrimp and Sun Dried Tomato Pasta

  1. barb says:

    I’ve had this. It’s delicious. And light years better than “pasta toss.”

  2. leann.mccrary@gmail.com says:

    Debbie – This looks amazing! Great idea to reserve the oil from sun-dried tomatoes. I might make this myself or just wait and bring a fork to your table!

Leave a Reply

