katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Breakfast Pizza

on May 9, 2013

20130509-212334.jpg

A few weeks ago, I committed to making Breakfast Pizzas for the kids in the 3rd grade religion class that I teach. Tomorrow morning is our last class of the year and the other teacher and I want to do something special for this great group of kids. As this week has gone by and Friday has been creeping closer and closer, I have been slightly panicked about how I was going to actually pull this off. “Oh…I’ll just make them…they’re easy to put together!” has somehow morphed into, “What was I thinking!! I don’t have time for this!” So I took the “just a little each day” approach and thankfully, I now have two beautiful breakfast pizzas sitting in my fridge, waiting patiently for tomorrow morning. Wednesday evening I hard boiled some eggs and saved some of the bacon I made for dinner that night (the kids and I had breakfast for dinner while Dad was out of town). Last night I made the pizza dough and put it in the fridge. And tonight, I rolled out the dough, put the toppings on and baked them. Tomorrow morning, we’ll reheat them in our church’s kitchen and hopefully we’ll have some really happy 3rd graders munching on pizza for breakfast! You can experiment with whatever toppings you think will work. I just improvised after looking at a few different recipes online and this is what I came up with.

BREAKFAST PIZZA:

~ pizza dough (this link will take you to my dough recipe)
~mozzarella cheese, shredded (about 3 cups)
~cooked bacon (2 to 3 slices) diced
~hard boiled eggs, 1 or 2, sliced
~tomatoe, 1 to 2, sliced

1. Preheat oven to 500 degrees
2. Lightly oil your pizza pan and roll out the dough onto the pan, stretching it to fit to the edges.
3. Sprinkle with about half of the mozzarella cheese, then the bacon, hard boiled eggs and tomatoes.
4. Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on and bake for 10 to 12 minutes.

Have a wonderful, restful weekend and a happy Mother’s Day!

2 responses to “Breakfast Pizza

  1. So comforting to know you have a pizza to bake off when needed sitting in your fridge, huh? And a GOOD homemade one at that – love it!

    Happy Mother’s day to you!

Leave a Reply

