katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Homemade Convenience

on February 23, 2013

20130221-194321.jpg

Do you know what makes me really happy on a Thursday morning when the kids have school and I am going to work? That bag in the middle of the bottom shelf of my freezer. Inside that bag is a healthy, real food breakfast for my family in 5 minutes. Kellogg’s is not the only one who can make breakfast fast and convenient…I can do it too. And I can do it with more fiber and protein, less sugar and sodium, and I do not need to use high fructose corn syrup. Of course, I have to invest a bit of time on the weekend. Or, I can do what I did tonight. We had pancakes for dinner, so I doubled the recipe and slid the extras into that bag. I do this whenever I make French toast or muffins as well. On the morning that I am using them, I just take out what I need and put them directly into the toaster oven, no need to thaw. You will need to experiment with your own oven…I toast mine on one side then flip them over and toast them for a second cycle and that is usually just about right. The following recipe for pancakes was adapted from Taste of Home and has oats as well as some whole wheat flour. Cut up some fruit to go along with them and you have given your kids a great start to their day.

20130221-203926.jpg

20130221-203947.jpg

20130221-204018.jpg

20130221-204034.jpg

OATMEAL PANCAKES (makes about 12 pancakes)
~1 cup of quick cooking oats
~1/2 cup whole wheat flour
~1/2 cup all purpose flour
~1 tablespoon sugar (or can stir in a tablespoon of maple syrup or honey to the wet ingredients)
~1 teaspoon baking powder
~1/2 teaspoon baking soda
~1/4 teaspoon salt
~1 egg, lightly beaten
~2 cups buttermilk (can substitute regular milk, but whole milk will be better than fat free)
~2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted if it has solidified (can substitute another oil that you normally bake with)
~1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1. Place all of the dry ingredients into a large bowl and whisk until thoroughly combined.
2. Place all of the wet ingredients into a medium bowl and whisk until combined.
3. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just mixed. The batter will be fairly thick and lumpy…you can add some water to thin it out a bit if you like.
4. Pour the batter by the 1/4 cupful onto a hot griddle that is either non stick or oiled.
5. When bubbles form on the top, flip them and heat on the second side until golden brown.
6. If you are freezing them for later, cool them on a cooling rack and place in a freezer ziplock bag with wax paper or parchment paper between layers.

Leave a Reply

