katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Cooking For Grandma

on February 20, 2013

20130220-215004.jpg

Usually when I go to my parents’ house, I revert back to my 12 year old self when it comes to preparing meals. Meaning, I might occasionally fix myself a sandwich or pour myself a bowl of cereal. I sleep in and let my Mom make the kids breakfast and I eventually come down and fix myself coffee. It is wonderfully lazy and there is nothing better than having someone else fix my meals for me…especially when that someone is my Mom. But a few days ago, she slipped on some ice while out on a walk with my Dad and ended up with a broken shoulder. Thank goodness she is in good shape and otherwise healthy, so I’m sure she’ll recover just fine from this..but it certainly has slowed her down for the moment! So today, we cooked for her in her kitchen…a place where previously my greatest achievement was probably scrambled eggs. We made Italian sausage roasted with potatoes, apples and onions from a recipe featured on A Life From Scratch . My Mom raised 8 of us…a feat that staggers my mind…she can probably use a little time in the recliner with her feet up! But don’t take too much time, Mom! There are grand kids that need your grilled cheese sandwiches made and daughters that just want to take a nap when they come to visit!

Roasted Sausage with Apples and Potatoes (serves 4)

~Sweet Italian Sausage (about 4 links)
~6 to 7 medium sized potatoes (I used red potatoes and yams) cut into about 1 inch pieces. If using yams or sweet potatoes, peel them before cutting.
~1 to 2 yellow onions, peeled and roughly chopped into large chunks.
~olive oil
~salt and pepper
~1 teaspoon of dried thyme or the leaves of a few sprigs of fresh thyme.
~2 Granny Smith apples, cored, chopped and mixed with about a teaspoon of olive oil, and a pinch of salt and pepper.
~2 to 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar.
~brown mustard for serving (optional)

1. Place the potatoes and onions in a 13×9 inch baking dish and drizzle about 1 tablespoon of olive oil over them.
2. Sprinkle with the thyme and salt and pepper to taste and stir gently to coat everything with the oil.
3. Place the sausages on top of the potatoes and onions and bake, uncovered, in a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes.
4. After 30 minutes, turn the oven down to 375, turn the sausages over, add the apples and continue to bake for 20 to 30 more minutes, until the potatoes are soft when pierced with a fork and the sausage is fully cooked.
5. In the last 5 minutes of cooking, sprinkle the apple cider vinegar over the dish.
6. Serve with some brown mustard if desired.

One response to “Cooking For Grandma

  1. Courtney says:

    I’m so glad to see you making this recipe! 🙂 I hope your moms shoulder heals quickly.

Leave a Reply

