katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Homemade Hot Cocoa

on January 18, 2013

Almost every weekend in the winter, my husband takes the kids skiing. We usually pack lunches for them and last year, I decided to try sending along hot cocoa in a thermos. Now, of course those Swiss Miss packets are convenient, but with ingredients like corn syrup, hydrogenated oil, and artificial flavor (why do they need to add artificial flavor???) I knew that I wanted to make it myself. After trying a couple of different recipes, I found a combination that is fairly quick and healthy. It does use granulated sugar, but you could probably try using real maple syrup. The skiing portion of my family has given it the thumbs up. It also works after sledding, skating and shoveling snow!

Katie: This hot cocoa is awesome! My Dad takes my brother and me skiing and my Mom makes this for us. After we’re done skiing we have a toast “to a great day of skiing”. You might also like this idea from New Nostalgia’s site. In the past, my brother and I have made it for our teachers.

Homemade Hot Cocoa (makes 4, 8oz. servings)

-1 cup of water

-3 heaping tablespoons unsweetened cocoa ( or 2 squares unsweetened chocolate, 2 oz. each)

-1/4cup sugar

-Dash of salt

-3 cups milk

-1/4 teaspoon of vanilla (optional)

Whisk together the sugar,cocoa powder and salt in a saucepan until their are no lumps.

Add the water and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring frequently.

Lower the heat and simmer for 3 minutes while stirring.

Add the milk, whisk to combine and bring almost to a boil over medium heat continuing to stir.

Remove from the heat and stir in the vanilla.

20130118-231326.jpg

One response to “Homemade Hot Cocoa

  1. Courtney says:

    My son loves hot cocoa! He came in from shoveling the driveway (his choice) requesting some! This recipe sounds delicious.

Leave a Reply

