katiejeancooks

Real Food For Families

Aunt Missy’s Pizza Sauce

on April 14, 2013

20130414-215522.jpg
My sister in law (Katie’s Aunt Missy) is the cake baker in our family. All of the cousins are terribly spoiled when it comes to their birthday cakes…and I hope they don’t ever take her fabulously yummy and beautiful creations for granted…I know that we parents are extremely grateful to her. So, besides baked goods, she apparently knows the secret to delicious pizza sauce as well. Direct quote, overheard at our dinner table, the night we tried it…”You MUST make this sauce every time we have pizza!!” Okay then…I will! Here’s the surprisingly simple recipe. Thank you, Missy!

Aunt Missy’s Pizza Sauce
~1 (28 oz) can whole peeled tomatoes, drained
~1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil
~1 tsp red wine vinegar (I didn’t have any, so used balsamic vinegar)
~2 medium garlic cloves, minced
~1 tsp salt
~1 tsp dried oregano
~1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender and process until smooth (about 30 seconds). Store in the fridge until ready to use. See our previous post on homemade pizza for a dough recipe.

2 responses to “Aunt Missy’s Pizza Sauce

  1. I LOVE this! I make something that requires pizza sauce almost weekly and I always resort to buying a (good) canned version. This looks so easy, thanks!

    • Debbie says:

      I’m always surprised at how quick and easy so many things are that I never considered making in the past. I guess the problem is…all those “quick and easy” things add up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

